Laista, like other nearby villages, was completely destroyed by the German army in 1943. In the post-war era, immigration and urbanization reduced its population even more, and only a few dozen permanent resident there nowadays.
In recent years, however, Laista has recovered and is on the path of development again. An asphalt road was laid (it was the last village in Zagori without asphalt street) and provides excellent services to the visitors of the area. There are restaurants and traditional guesthouses that offer comfortable hospitality, while the wonderful natural environment fills the travelers with stunning pictures of the Epirus countryside.
Visit the church of Pammegiston Taxiarchon dating back to 1770. It is a magnificent temple with a magnificent temple, crafted with the technique of deep pits and many representations from the Holy Bible and mythology.
The chapel of Saint-Giorgis, with the tree where Patrokosmas Aetolos spoke in 1778. It is a ten minute walk from the village.