From Monodendri come the national benefactors Manthos and Georgios Rizaris, who founded the “Joint School of Greek Courses” in Monodendri and nine years later, in 1944, the inauguration of the Rizarion Church School in Athens was held. Today, the Rizarios School of Crafts, the Exhibition Center of the Rizarion School hoss exhibitions of Greek and foreign artists, as well as the open-air theater, where performances and concerts take place every summer.
The village is built on the southwest side of the Vikos Gorge, at an altitude of 1060 meters, and there is access to a stunning view of the Gorge. Here are two of the four natural observatories of the Vikos Gorge: one at Oxya and the other at Monastery of Saint Paraskevi. The other two are at the western end of the gorge in the settlement of Vikos and the other near the village of Vradeto in Beloi site.
On July 27, 1943 the conquerors burned down a house in the village.
Important monuments are the Church of Saint Athanasios 1804 and the Temple of Saint Minas 1620.