Slide background


The name Zagori originates from the Slavic intention Za, meaning “back” and the causative of the essential gora which means mountain or area behind the mountain. It is a translation of the ancient name of the region, “Parrea”, which means “despite the mountain”, originating from Slavic genders that descended in the area in the 6th century.

Zagorohoria are a unique residential, historical and cultural unity at the northwestern tip of Pindos mountain hill. Their natural boundaries are set south of Mitsikeli Mountain, north of the Aoos River, east of the Lygos Mountains and west of the Tymphis mountain range.

Zagori is geographically divided into three sections: Central, Western and Eastern Zagori, including twenty, ten and sixteen villages respectively.

The human presence in the area is already detected during the Upper Paleolithic period (14,000 – 8,000 BC).

Since 1430, and throughout the Ottoman domination of the region, Zagori has been granted privileged status, having secured autonomy, self-government and tax exemption. These conditions, coupled with the economic prosperity and the development of trade, boosted the social and cultural prospects of Zagori. A lot of money was spent to build homes, schools, bridges, trails, fountains, churches and a number of other remarkable buildings.

During the Second World War the contribution of the residents of Zagori and especially of the women of Zagori was invaluable. They transported ammunition and other supplies to the soldiers and turned back carrying wounded men.

Nowadays Zagorohoria maintain their cultural heritage unchanged in an attempt to continue the customs of the region. The unique architecture, the traditional music, the natural beauty, the wild beauty of the mountains and the rich flora and fauna of the area are the characteristics that make it stand out. The newly built charitable municipality consists of the municipal unit of Central Zagori, the municipal unit of Eastern Zagori, the municipal unit of Tymphis and the communities of Vovoussa and Papigko.